Our Fifth Review!

I have been on Facebook a long time. I have many friends, but all are people I’ve encountered through on-line projects or in real life and then we became Facebook friends. But, for the first time ever, through Facebook I have made an actual friend. One I hold quite dear despite never having met her. After all, she, who was a complete stranger but days ago, is now counted among the people who have seen this book, my dream, and perhaps my magnum opus, before the rest of the world.

DeviantSF

Ryu X Chun-Li fans, I proudly present to you a review from a very special person living in the Netherlands. Anouk Rurup.

Anouk, the blog is yours.

Hey RXCLP fans,

I was proud and honoured to be invited to contribute to the Ryu X Chun-Li project. This is a project that I have been keeping an eye on for some time. I always appreciate it when people give their full 200% to the things that matter to them. That is true love. In my book that is a thing to respect and admire. No matter what part of the Street Fighter universe you love, or which head canon you thought out for yourself.

Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 12.37.08 AM

Being relatively new to the Ryu X Chun-LI fan base, I wondered how the story would evolve around them as lovers. This, because usually the characters are seen pitted against each other in the game we all know and love. I agree with the way this book was done: the characters interacted with each other in a way that seemed natural and in character to me. The contents respectfully address other theories about character pairings as well. After seeing many heated discussions over which pairing is the correct one, this was very refreshing. The arguments provided in the storyline convinced and made things fall into place for me.

225599_460690377344697_1972574445_n

I was impressed as I thumbed through the pages: by the artwork, the different art styles, and the storyline. To think many different people from all over the world worked on the book makes reading it an extra special experience. I put my feet up and took my time to study everything hidden into it. There are many details to feast your eyes on as you read: those small references included in the artwork that true fans of Street Fighter would spot and appreciate. I know I did.

panel preview

The story managed to keep my attention: in between are smaller comics that provide a little comic relief and a small break from the main story. These comics were a welcome addition: they leave room for more references that wouldn’t have fit with the plot but are fun to fans. These breaks also left my mind to wonder how the main story would continue on the following page.

Screen Shot 2014-04-09 at 5.58.17 AM

I was happy to see my favourite Street Fighter character play an important role in the main comic. I won’t give away who it is. But you’re in for a big surprise as far as his story is concerned! To be honest I didn’t expect there would be much spotlight for other characters besides Ryu and Chun-Li beforehand, but having read the book I have to correct myself there: I think all parts of the fandom have been taken into account. There is something for everyone in the book. There are characters and cameos from all different games in the canon.

679864_10151362817960676_224000983_o

This book is not only a tribute to Ryu and Chun-Li, but to the entire Street fighter universe. That’s what makes it great. And I felt very much part of a team when I joined. Street fighter has brought me much love and friendship from a wide variety of world warriors, and still keeps doing so. For that I will always be thankful.

If you would like to get in on this wonderful book, here’s how:

More next time!

ryuxchunliproject@gmail.com

Standard

One thought on “Our Fifth Review!

  1. Pingback: Peace of Mind | Ryu X Chun-li Project

Leave a Reply

