Christopher Moore

Hey RXCLP blog readers.  As we get closer and closer to our launch date, we hope more of you would step up and share your RCL experiences with us. This time, we have a wonderful entry from RCL fan…

 

cooltext1738819889,

Christopher, the blog is yours.

I was approached to write a blog submission for the Ryu X Chun-Li Project-which would basically tell why I paired these two characters together. So hold on, and here we go!!!

524029_448726355207766_277742694_n



I have been playing video games for a long time. And one day in 1991-a video game would change my life forever-and that was CAPCOM’s Street Fighter II. But in an unusual twist, it wasn’t this game that gave birth to the idea of pairing Ryu, the game’s primary male character, with Chun-Li, who was not only the primary game’s female character, but the first female playable character. In fact, it wasn’t any of the games in the Street Fighter universe.

Nope-it was a totally different game that turned me on to the R/CL pairing. And that game-released nearly 10 years later-was Marvel v. CAPCOM: Clash of Super-Heroes.

mvc

I remember hitting the arcade, and seeing this game. I put in my tokens, and hit start. And what caught my eye was the two characters occupying the upper left corner.

It was Street Fighter’s own Chun-Li and right next to her was Ryu.

Marvel Vs. Capcom- Clash of Super Heroes (Euro 980123)-3

‘Big deal’, I thought. All the CAPCOM characters occupy the upper half of the select screen, so I didn’t think too much of that. But…why would those two characters be placed right next to each other? Was CAPCOM trying to tell its fans something without coming right out and saying it?

Well-since the concept of this game was two-on-two matches-my go-to pairing in MvC was Ryu and Chun-Li. In fact, I believe 90% of the matches I played used the team of Ryu and Chun-Li. And in 2000, I bought a Sega Dreamcast-and one of the first games I bought for it was the perfect arcade port of Marvel v. CAPCOM. And the trend continued-with the bulk of my team matches being Ryu and Chun-Li.

Screen Shot 2014-10-01 at 5.04.22 AM

And then something happened,  I decided to search for Ryu and Chun-Li fansites. I wanted to see if there were any others who might have felt this way. And in my searches, I happened upon the fanfiction story that would change my life. And no-that isn’t hyperbole or being overdramatic. I happened upon the story Hero of Heroes, written by Brian ‘Night’ Yip. And while Brian is no longer with us, his story lives on-a magnum opus chronicling a love story between these icons of video games.

RCLBookCover_black

After that, there were many other stories that I had read on the now-closed SF Archives. But it felt as if there was no community for the fans of this couple to get together and support their union. And then-nearly 13 years after stumbling into Hero of Heroes, I discovered the Ryu X Chun-Li Project-a group devoted to a goal that so long ago, I thought impossible. And now that they are here, I cannot wait to see how they have done this couple justice!

Why do I support the Ryu x Chun-Li Project-and this pairing as well?

Screen Shot 2014-01-25 at 7.33.34 AMsfgoukenblood

-A shared pain: It’s well known that Bison murdered Chun-Li’s father (on a Tuesday-that monster).  And Ryu suffered a similar loss in that his ‘father’-Sensei Gouken-was killed by Akuma (before he was retconned resurrected). It may seem shallow-but this is a common ground thing for both of them.

Ryu-Vs-Chun-Li

Photo by Photos By Alexander Nerozya

-A shared interest: They both happen to be world-renowned street fighters-who both enjoy fighting each other.

Screen Shot 2013-08-31 at 10.48.39 PM

-An unexplored past: It’s quite possible that Ryu and Chun-Li met and fought in the past-and quite possibly trained together; both under Gen and Gouken.  This is a possibility that CAPCOM should explore…

Ryu X Chun-Li Banner

But all of that wasn’t significant. I needed a place with others who loved and supported this pairing.  And that’s when I discovered the RXCL Project, and discovered their mission to create a serious fan-created work to show their support of this pairing.  And I was a fan.

Screen Shot 2014-07-30 at 10.29.25 PM

But I didn’t support them.  And for a long time, I came by, checked up on the progress, and viewed art submitted on their Facebook page, but I didn’t show any kind of support.  Not a great way to be a fan, huh?

Money

And then I donated to this project.  Because I wanted to see it reach its conclusion.  And there may be a fan of this couple who might read this blog.  He or she might feel that same fear.  But you must get past that fear, if you are a fan.

I have a quotation actually, it’s paraphrased- from the character Aemon Targaryen from Game of Thrones.  And when I saw the quotation, it felt perfect for those fans who may be on the fence:

aemon-targaryen-1024
We can all be fans when there is no cost to it.  Being a fan comes easy then.  But sooner or later, there comes a day when it is not so easy.  A day when a fan must choose.

And for a long time I called myself a fan of this couple.  But when it came time to be a true fan-I wilted in fear.  I would think, ‘I can’t afford to donate’.  But then, I chose to be a fan-and I donated to the RXCL Project.  And other fans need not be afraid, you too can be fans and choose to show your support.

OK, I’m off my soapbox…RXCL forever!!!!

ryuxchunliproject@gmail.com

Standard

Leave a Reply

