96% Complete

As I sit here four pages away from completing the story I promised almost two years ago that my teams and I would complete, I’ve had a moment of clarity and I think I finally understand why I love this pairing so much. To me, they are…

 

RyuXChun-li Onsen

Why? Because, to me, each character represents half of an ideal.

ryu3wr

Ryu is the perfect man in my mind. He is strong and thoughtful in a way all men should be. Smart and wise enough to value learning, but naive enough to be surprised. He treats his body like a temple, putting nothing but good into it and keeping it in excellent shape. He lives outside the rat race and outside society’s expectations without hurting society. He embraces humanity’s penchant for violence, and he fights not to hurt, but to learn and better himself. He can also be a hero and fight evil and/or protect others when the situation demands it, but he isn’t a hero to the point where he can’t live his own life and do the things he wants to do. Trouble that only he can stop tends to find him, he never has to go out and look for it like other heroes.

Chun_Li

Chun-Li is the perfect woman in my mind. She is strong and thoughtful in a way all women should be. Smart and wise enough to value learning, but naive enough to be surprised. She treats her body like a temple, putting nothing but good into it and keeping it in excellent shape. She lives outside the rat race and outside society’s expectations without hurting society. She embraces humanity’s penchant for violence, and she fights not to hurt but to protect. And, from my very male perspective, she encompasses everything beautiful about women.

I see glimpses of what Ryu and Chun-Li mean to me when I see…

opoy-15455-mid

A man and woman figure skate together…

LTP

A man and woman play mixed doubles tennis

man-and-woman-reviewing-papers-on-construction-site

When a man and a woman work on a project together…

1174309926

And so on.

I’m tired of this world where we keep saying men and women are not or should be equal. Quit wasting time. We aren’t meant to be equal. We are meant to COMPLIMENT each other, to form the ultimate team!  To form a team where we both lead, and we both follow. To form a team where we are both strong and both gentle.  A team that when we work so hard at being together, we transcend what it means to be two and become the true one.

chun_li_x_ryu_7_comission_for__soulninja2_by_cablex452-d6ccvbe

1+1 equals 1.

We just haven’t figured it out yet.

 

More next time!

 

ryuxchunliproject@gmail.com

Standard

Leave a Reply

