Psychoblue

Hello Ryu X Chun-Li Project fans and followers. Today we have with us a very special guest, Aaron Pinsky A.K.A. Psychoblue. He has started to make a name for himself in the fighting game commentating scene including the CAPCOM Cup, but he is best known to RCL fans as the writer of the fan fiction, “End of a Journey”. We are very pleased to have him contribute to our blog. Aaron, the floor is yours…

1011811_10100518047475923_1300847782_n

Hello everyone!

Has it really been a year?

It’s been about 13 months since I first caught wind of Sean’s ambitious project when he messaged me about writing the script for a Ryu/Chun-Li project.  I was skeptical, I admit, being that I had participated in a few other comic projects only for nothing to come out of them, but I was flattered that someone would ask me to do this.  Under any other circumstances, I would have had something prepared for him in a month at the longest, and two weeks at the earliest.

logo

Sadly, the circumstances of my life around that time were less than rosy.  I was starting my first full-time job in the rural nowhere of Mecklenburg County, Virginia USA, and I was just getting my feet wet in what would turn out to be a long, mired war with my co-workers and supervisors that threatened to consume my life.  Because of this, I kept delaying my responsibilities to Sean until I had to tell him that I had to back out.

129825-SpiderMan_NoMore

As a fellow educator, Sean did what he could to lift my spirits, and often times are Skype conversations were less about RCL and more about the tips and trades of the profession.  I wouldn’t wish what I went through upon anyone, and many other teachers I speak to about my stories cannot begin to empathize with the skullduggery I had to endure.  But that time is past me, and while I was currying favor with unions, Sean was in the process of currying favor with his muse.

jlu_wonder-woman-and-batman

Since it was doubtful that I would be able to write anything worthwhile with so little free time on my hands, I told Sean that, having read his Justice League work, perhaps he could write the script and I could give some feedback once I read it.  And thus, Sean hammered out a couple of drafts and bounced some ideas off of me, and I did what I could to make my own suggestions for what would make the story a cut above what had come before it and become not only the defining RCL comic, but a strong Street Fighter comic in its own right.

Street_Fighter___High_School_by_chou_roninx-2

http://chou-roninx.deviantart.com

When the school year finally ended and my employment with Mecklenburg expiring, I became far more serious about the quality of the comic’s writing.  As Sean can attest to, I am a massive perfectionist in all aspects of my life.  Apart from being a Street Fighter lore enthusiast, I’m also a competitive fighting game player with quite a few tournaments under my belt.  I’m the kind of guy who will defeat an opponent 3-0 and angst that I didn’t Perfect on him every single round: I’m always looking for improvement.

RyuXChun-li Onsen

I read the final draft of Sean’s script once more and decided that it was lacking something.  Sean did a fine job laying out the pages and dialogue so that I could envision every single panel as I read through it, which in turn allowed me to know exactly what would alleviate my concerns about the comic.  Sean knows full well how much I have ragged on other attempts to what he has set out to accomplish, both in the RCL front and the SF front.  While that might make me seem obtrusive, I only want what’s best for this ship.

street_pirates_by_orientalowl-d49yg0g

http://orientalowl.deviantart.com

And so I did what I could to help Sean with what I felt that was.  In a little under two hours, I went through every single page of the script and added captions and soliloquies to better develop the flow of RCL’s feelings for one another, and even contributed a couple of chapters of my own to ease the transition between scenes.  From what I understand, only one of them may make the final cut, but if more people help out and there’s room for more, the other scene is there for him.

994947_542141319199602_36745387_n

http://manuhell.cghub.com/

I think making those changes were all the proof I needed that it was not my own weakness that prevented me from writing the comic myself, but the toxic cancer that was my previous workplace.  By writing all of that in under two hours, I had proven to myself that I was finally over that place and ready to tackle my own ambitions.

CapcomCupLogo

And so here we are at the end of 2013, where I have accomplished some of my lifelong dreams in a little under 6 months.  Not only do I have my name on a comic project that will most certainly come into fruition thanks to Sean’s tenacity and reliability, but my name in the Street Fighter community now goes beyond the fanfic world.  After I dropped a Perfect on the global phenom known as Ricky Ortiz at The Fall Classic, I was asked by Karastorm to commentate the Street Fighter x Tekken Online Qualifiers for Capcom Cup 2013.   And then I was told I did such a great job I was asked to do it again, and again, until I became one of the voices of the entire tournament.

Ryu_e_Ken___Amigos_by_sergio_borges-2

http://sergio-borges.deviantart.com

And I owe a great deal of that to Sean.  Sean pushed me to get past the garbage and pursue what made me happy regardless of professional hindrances, and thanks to him I was able to reach for the stars, and in turn accomplish great things not only in the SF world, but my professional life.  I am once again working full-time, this time in my hometown of Richmond freakin’ Virginia, and now I can write at my leisure.  Eventually I will get to where I want to be professionally, but now I have the experiences and wherewithal to get there sooner rather than later.

Page_2

Here’s to you, Sean, and here’s to you, the RCL community.  This is not an End of a Journey…this is only the beginning.

Thanks, Aaron! It’s good to have friends on this journey…

Screen Shot 2013-11-29 at 10.46.09 PM

All kinds of friends…

ryuxchunliproject@gmail.com

Standard

3 thoughts on “Psychoblue

  1. Pingback: Iwa | Ryu X Chun-li Project

  2. Pingback: Malibu…LIVED?!!!! | Ryu X Chun-li Project

  3. Pingback: 200! | Ryu X Chun-li Project

Leave a Reply

