A Thicker Skin.

Screen Shot 2013-05-26 at 6.20.08 PM

I want to thank you all for reading my last blog entry.  Whether you loved or hated it, the entry was an emotionally charged one to be sure. I’m not even sure if I should have written it. Maybe I just pushed more people away then I brought towards the project. Either way, I’ll leave it up because part of this project is documenting my own reactions and changes as I bring a Ryu/Chun-li story to life.

And now it’s time to evaluate how I react to something else:

I had my first articulate negative comment over on the RCL page on Deviant (I had one before but it made no sense, so I deleted it. Not so much because it was negative, but rather it gave me a headache every time I tried to make sense of it). Anyway, the commenter I’m going to show you now came to the blog (Thank you!) saw the first four pages of our comic, and…well…here it is.

Screen Shot 2013-07-05 at 1.18.19 PM

My first urge was to challenge it. Try to “win” against this guy. See, I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but I am rather full of myself. 😀 I mean, here I am! I’m writing a (nonprofit) story with some other company’s intellectual property without official permission! And, I won’t lie. Seeing a comment like this does make me a little angry and make me doubt myself. Why? Because comments like these hurt, and I haven’t got a very thick skin. Not yet, anyway.

calvin-angry-calvin--26-hobbes-318681_366_362

Why doesn’t this completely random perfect stranger who does not use his real name when he comments love what I’m doing?!  

Heh. I’m such a child.

Now, don’t worry all of you. One donator who has e-mailed back and forth with me knows the truth about that scene and why Chun-li is carrying the tray. If you really want to know, donate and get our previews. Or if you have donated and don’t know, ask me. I promise I’ll tell you when you do. But, I digress.

I considered deleting the comment above, but decided not to, because what does that make me? I deleted the nonsensical one and still don’t feel good about it. But if I deleted this one, what would I be then? Honestly, I’m not sure. Does it make me a coward? Does it make me a person who is being sensitive to the positive people who make comments on the site? Does it make me someone who is doing a disservice to his project because he lets or doesn’t let comments like this stand? Honestly, I don’t know.

In the end, since the comment is articulate, I decided to let it stand. Why, because I need to welcome it at this point in my life…I think.  See, I need to train and toughen my own skin against comments like these. You can see how I finally decided to respond to the comment in the picture below.  And, you can also see the people I’m making this book for.  They’re there too.

Screen Shot 2013-07-05 at 2.17.34 PM

Screen Shot 2013-07-05 at 2.18.24 PM

gouken-young-ryu-training

And I am thankful.  After all…I’m training!

More next time.

Sean Anderson

ryuxchunliproject@gmail.com

Standard

Leave a Reply

