Cold Dead Stone

Hi. Sean Anderson here, head of the Ryu X Chun-li Project.  The RXCLP’s last blog entry, written by the wonderful David “Duake” Muich, gave me something I have always wanted since I read “Hero of Heroes” by Brian Yip all those years ago–a definitive tangible connection to the story that put me on the road to this project in the first place. But Brian’s story, in truth, was just the beginning. Like the story did for David, “Hero of Heroes” inspired me to write my own Ryu/Chun-li fanfction. I tried for four years.  But, thanks to a combination of no ideas better than Brian’s and impatience, I failed. And then… I gave up. You read right. I decided to let my idea of a Ryu/Chun-li story die and move on to other things.

Goliath3

And so I did. I let my desire to write a Ryu/Chun-li story turn into cold dead stone in my mind and, in the decade that followed, focused on my teaching (At the moment my primary job is a junior high school teacher in Japan). I also did another project where I learned more than I ever could have hoped about money, people, art direction, and storytelling.

But as the above was going on, a few other things happened.

949755-logo_main_large

The first was in an issue of the UDON Street Fighter comic I’d purchased. In it’s pages, Ryu and Chun-li met for the first time! The moment was something I’d been waiting for since the first issue of the UDON comic years ago!  I was hoping for some conversation between the two characters.

Screen Shot 2013-05-06 at 11.12.31 PM

All I got was one panel, a few words, and a handshake.

Goliath_stone_face

The stone got its first crack.

Next, came Street Fighter Legacy…

Street_Fighter_Legacy_Logo_by_F_1

Joey Ansah, an actor, stuntman, and Hollywood fight trainer was pushed to the limit of his love for Street Fighter when “Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-li” came out. He was so disappointed in the film that he and his good friend Christian Howard decided to take matters into their own hands and create a pitch video. The video would go on to get well over 2 million views, get CAPCOM’s attention, blessing, and result in Joey and Christian getting enough support to produce a Street Fighter web series that will come out later this year focusing on Ryu and Ken’s origins. Joey had taken matters into his own hands regarding his dreams for Street Fighter and succeeded.

1c3_1bb91f73e9

The stone cracked again.

tumblr_lt0jffRkTD1qg8i80o2_1280 tumblr_lt0jffRkTD1qg8i80o5_1280 tumblr_lt0jffRkTD1qg8i80o1_1280

Then I found a series of art by a man named Bastien Vivès. The series was titled, “No Love for Street Fighters” In the works, Chun-li was being ignored by Vega and Balrog. Cammy and Ryu sat next to each other awkwardly. The art was painful for an old Ryu/Chun-li fan like me.

0

The stone cracked a few more times.

Light was starting to shine through from within.

 street_fighter_x_mega_man-5

After that, Street Fighter X Megaman, a game created by a fan, was accepted, finished, published, and released to players for free by CAPCOM. Again a fan had decided to act and was successful.

gargoyles_90__s_cartoon_goliath_by_digitaltofu-d5mfohr

The stone was shaking. Pieces were falling to the ground.

Light was coming out of it from all over.

GargoylesS1_pic3_1103242873

Finally, when my last project was complete and active on the world stage, I asked myself what I wanted to do next. That’s when it happened. My old fanfic desire broke out of the stone I’d put it in like a Gargoyle at sunset.

73cd4b8b5c3878e6e0d0889d95e7b7791d9ead10

The desire leaped into my conscious mind and roared. It was angry and would not be denied. It demanded I write the Ryu/Chun-li story I hungered for because I knew definitively I was never going to get the story I wanted in my lifetime unless I did something about it.

However, having worked on my last project with an artist and all the delicious art that resulted, I couldn’t just write another fanfiction. I couldn’t just add another bunch of text to the ocean of Ryu/Chun-li text that already existed. Brian Yip set the bar. The best Ryu/Chun-li text-only fanfic was already out there. If I was going to do this, I had to do better. I asked myself what I might be able to afford with some donations to help, and I settled on a graphic novel. I was getting excited.

But then I calmed down and came to my senses. I looked my old desire in the eye and said, I have no ideas. I have no story to write. I’m not going to waste another four years trying to write a story that I don’t have.

The desire’s eyes glowed hot white. It roared loud enough to scare me out of my wits. Then it said two words….

033

 HIRE SOMEONE.

More next time.

Ryu X Chun-li Project on Facebook

ryuxchunliproject@gmail.com

Standard

Leave a Reply

