Ryu X Sakura–two cents!

Image

Our previous post on Ryu and Sakura as a couple resulted in a thoughtful reply from this artist: http://cruiseshipper.deviantart.com/

We share this reply with permission.

Contrary to what people would like to believe, Sakura actually does age and mature. She only wears her school uniform still because she regards it as her personal fighting attire. I know it sounds silly, but it was Ono or Shiozawa that mentioned it in response to a question on one of the Capcom blogs if I’m not mistaken.

Plus, in an early podcast preceding vanilla SF4’s release on consoles, one of the people interviewing Ono chimed in on the subject. He apparently lived in Japan long enough to observe popular fashion trends there, and he said that it’s not uncommon for people to continue wearing their uniforms well after graduating high school. It seems a lot of Japanese find it rather stylish.

That’s not to say I don’t want her to get a new costume. I really do. If Chun-Li can change her default outfit for a specific period in the SF timeline, there’s no reason Sakura can’t. But we’re somehow expected to believe the schoolgirl look is too iconic for them to drop, so they insist on pushing it in every game.

Nonetheless, I’m not bothered by Ryu/Sakura. Though to be quite frank, while I do like the idea of them as a couple, I ship them together out of necessity more than anything. I made it a point to ship all the SF girls, and Ryu was the only logical choice I could see for her. And because of that, I ship Chun-Li with Abel instead since there seems to be room for intimacy between them.

Just my $.02. I still feel that Ryu/Chun-Li weren’t done justice in any fanon ever gone to print. Best of luck with the project! Can’t wait to read it.

Thanks for letting us share this cruiseshipper and thanks for your support!

Image

 

More next time!

ryuxchunliproject@gmail.com

Standard

Leave a Reply

